Leon’s Violin

Preston Pownell

Leon comes to visit my shop every day – although he is not well and possibly  never will be. He no longer works. He loves films. He bought a copy of Twilight and has not yet left the first page and he may never leave this page. But he visits to check that the second volume is available should he ever need it, feeling that he must have this copy of New Moon for his shelf also. He is very loyal to me and my shop and every day  checks to see that I am well even though he is not. His few books that he owns are essential to him. He is always concerned for me because he thinks that I don’t get many customers but he is not concerned for his own devastating health problems. He says that Twilight is the best writing about vampires there is and is always eager to talk about it, carrying the book everywhere with the bookmark always in page one. He is always laughing. I may now understand what Nabokov meant by a book being a ‘violin in a void’ because now I have seen it. Leon’s void is completely lit up by the violins that he plays within it.

Photography by Preston Pownell

Leave a Reply

